10 Super Annoying Things Bosses Do

Please just stop!

Max Klein
5 min readApr 7, 2021
Credit: WAYHOME studio on Shutterstock

You may not be one of those bosses that crawled from the pits of hell but if you do any of these annoying things you may be starting to grow horns.

The thing is, these are so easy to just stop doing.

I’ve studied and practiced leadership for 25 years in military, corporate, and volunteer settings and I’ve seen bosses do all of these things. Actually, I’ve done most of them myself before I realized how annoying I was!

If you do these things, please just stop. Your employees will thank you.

#1. Setting Meetings or Asking for Reports at 4:45…Especially on a Friday

I was out to eat with someone recently who had to keep leaving dinner to make calls at 6:30 on a Friday because their boss emailed the entire department at 4:55 demanding various reports/tasks be done “ASAP” as in right then or over the weekend.

Except in cases of an extreme and unusual nature, this is just asinine.

Why would anyone do this except to flex their socially unaware bossy muscles? Setting late meetings and demands, especially on Friday, adds an entirely new level of icing on the crap cake of an employee’s day with you.

--

--